No-Bell Prize

Free Public Lecture

No-Bell Prize

Auditorium, Melbourne Brain Centre
Kenneth Myer Building
Royal Parade


More information

Just how difficult is it for brain and mind researchers to speak without jargon when describing their research? Join our MC, Dr Shane Huntington (Einstein a Go Go, RRR) and our expert judges as we challenge five of our brightest academics to speak in layperson’s terms when describing their research.

Join us as we 'go up against the bell' in a competition to crown the 2017 No-Bell Prize!


  • Professor Christine Wells, Director of the Centre for Stem Cell Systems
  • Professor Cassandra Szoeke, Consultant Neurologist, The Royal Melbourne Hospital and Director, Healthy Ageing Program, Department of Medicine
  • Associate Professor Olivia Carter, Perception and Pharmacology Laboratory Director
  • Professor Peter Bossaerts, Experimental Finance and Decision Neuroscience
  • Professor Felicity Baker, Co-director, National Music Therapy Research Unit

Join us for an end-of-year soiree prior the No-Bell Prize!

4.30 - 5.30pm: Drinks and nibbles 5.30 - 6.30ish: No-Bell Prize


  • Dr Jared Cooney Horvath
    Dr Jared Cooney Horvath, Educational Neuroscientist
  •   Sarah  Brooker
    Sarah Brooker, Director, Science in Public
  •  Robyn Williams
    Robyn Williams, Science journalist and broadcaster
  • Dr Shane Huntington
    Dr Shane Huntington, Principal Strategy Adviser to the Dean of MDHS and Host of 3RRR’s science program, 'Einstein a Go Go'.